NEVER GIVE UP YOUR DREAMS

Whew, now that tax season is over I can breath a bit easy. 

So with the chaos going on with today being the end of tax season, I thought I’d share a little motivational blog with you guys who are just starting their makeup career. 

Well as I stated before, I am a Certified Makeup Artist based out of the DC, MD and VA area.  I attended a certified course based out of the Temple Hills, Md area just about 6 months ago.  I always had a passion for makeup and I knew just last year that I will turn that hobby as I once called it to a paid passion, so to say.  I mean, who wouldn’t love the idea of getting paid to do what you love.  Once I found out about the school, I had to quickly apply before I missed the 6 to 8 week course and have to wait a whole season to sign up for another.  At the time I was going through some financial problems and was totally afraid to take this big leap and pay $950 to a lady or a course I knew nothing about.  The only thing I knew about was that my Step-Sister paid her money to attend so, it must be good.  On my first day there I was scared as hell.  I didn’t get the email on dress code and I felt out of place when I left my pen and paper on my desk of my day job.  Right then and there I had doubts about completing this course and I wanted to walk right out and quit because I didn’t think I was good enough.  As the course went on, I’d say maybe the 4th class I felt a tad bit comfortable but still lacked the confidence I needed in myself to see that I was actually doing a good job.  I mean, I could fill in the eyebrows something sweet honey.  Even my instructor said that it looked like a professional who’s been in the business for some time filled in the eyebrows of some of the models I had a pleasure working with.  However, at that time I couldn’t see that.  I kept critiquing my self… making sure that everything was placed right which took a lot of my time to actually complete the look.  My timing skills were so bad that once I got a chance to work with my step sister as my model I concentrated so much on her eyebrows and placement of the eyeshadow that I completely rushed through the foundation part and the whole look became a hot mess.  I was so frustrated with myself that I couldn’t get organized and missed my ride home.  However, by me missing my ride, I was able to hear the instructor tell my Step-Sister that her makeup application skills are improving and that she wouldn’t want to walk around making people have clown faces like me.  I was hurt, embarrassed and extremely distraught.   Like my whole point of going to this class, paying this money that I really didn’t have from the beginning to this woman was to teach me the right way to apply makeup.  Hell, we were really close to finishing and you want to say that I apply clown faces?  It took every might of me not to blow up and curse her but I kept my cool and told myself that the next class I would come out even stronger and that I will finish this class and become that great makeup artist I can be.  I went to the library and got a few how to books and practiced on anyone I could possibly think of who would let me.  I had people who have been in the makeup business critique me to help me be a better makeup artist.  Just so happen, I did a paid costumer’s makeup and she ran to the makeup stores (MAC and Sephora) for all of maybe 10 minutes and got me 3 clients, just by telling them I did her makeup.  

So the moral of this story is, people will doubt you, they will talk about you plus more.   The only thing you can do is keep your head up and keep doing what you love.  So what a certain person don’t like the way you apply makeup.  There are others out there who love it.  Plus, the great Ole thing about being a makeup artist is that you’re an artist.  It’s your vision.  Granted, you want to give your client the greatest satisfaction in the world and I understand that.  However, your client saw your vision through your work and hired you because of it.  Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t because in all possibility YOU CAN!!

I hope each and everyone of you had a great day and may you be blessed in all you put your mind to do.

image

2 thoughts on “NEVER GIVE UP YOUR DREAMS

  1. I love this post! Truly an inspiration! You have touched on the most important thing – confidence! We, as human beings, are so hard on ourselves all the time – it pays off to love yourself enough to say “Yes, I have this skill! I am talented! I am an artist!”…confidence is everything! Keep on doing what you love and what you are great at! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

