New Subscription – Gwynnie Bee

I am far from a fashionista.  If I could I would wear stretch pants and oversized shirts with my fake me out combat boots all the time.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy dressing up or anything like that… I  just don’t believe cute clothes come in my size.  (For those of you who don’t know, I am a plus size woman.)

Of course we have several clothing stores that cater to us plus-size women however, the cost of our clothes is out of this world.  For example, I went to Torrid a few months back for a pair of jeans.  I saw this cute rugged looking light blue pair of jeans which I knew would fit my sense of style perfect.  As I picked up the pants to try them on, I was a bit curious to see how much these pants would set me back.  Now I am not the cheapest but I ain’t the most materialistic one either.  Those pants were $90!  $90! I couldn’t believe my eyes.  $60 maybe even $70 but I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the thought of spending damn near $100 on some cut up jeans.  I went to Ashley Stewart, saw a cute blouse for work and it was $60.  As I said before, I am not cheap but I don’t want to spend money on clothes that may only last for a year.

Any who, so this one particular day I decided to browse the web while at work and came across this advertisement for plus size clothes.  The dress on the model was cute so I thought it wouldn’t hurt to browse some more to see if I could find a nice inexpensive dress to purchase.  Well to my surprise the advertisement was a blog for fashionable plus sized clothes for the younger generation ( I really wish I took down the url for the sight but I didn’t, sorry.)  This blog featured, Torrid, Fashion to Figure, Lane Bryant and this subscription website called Gwynnie Bee.  Now y’all know I love a reasonable priced subscription.  More so, I love a subscription who offers a free month.

I begin to sign up, giving them all of my information as in address, credit card information, etc.  After I did all of that I was allowed to start shopping.  All of the clothing was categorized nicely just like any other clothing website.  They have a tab for new arrivals, work wear, casual wear and even girls night out wear.  Seeing that I spend majority of my time at work, I thought dresses for work would be more appropriate.

Now, once I placed all of the dresses I wanted to wear in my closet, I prioritized my items as to the ones I really wanted first and prayed and wished on a star that I got the dresses I really wanted to wear.  Mind you, at this point I really didn’t fully understand how this subscription worked.  In my mind, I thought I would get to keep the clothes that I liked and send back the clothes that I didn’t like.  Also, I thought that the clothes were new and never worn.  Boy was I mistaken.  Gwynnie Bee is a subscription who caters to plus sized women.  All of the clothing items on the website are gently used.  With that being said, I was a bit afraid to continue with the subscription.  I am not very fond of wearing gently used clothes from anyone because some clothes worn by others goes to the new person smelling a bit funky… well that’s my opinion anyways.  However, I was wrong about these gently worn clothes I received two days after placing the dresses in my closet.  The colors on the clothes were vibrant and they smelled new. The two dresses that I wanted first arrived neatly wrapped with a return bag and brochures for further information.  I was so in love with the dresses and really surprised that I was wearing clothes recently worn by other women.  Its kinda like that one movie with the traveling pants now that I think about it.  Any ways, like I said I was really loving the dresses I picked out.  The first dress I wore was this pretty navy blue dress with flower prints over it.


As you can see the dress was beautiful.  You can dress it up or make it a casual out to the park type of dress.

The only problem I had with the dress was that there was a small hole on the side of the dress and the price Gwynnie Bee was asking for to make this dress a permanent statement in my closet.  I believe they were asking damn near the sale price for a “gently used garment”.  Gently used my ass, I wouldn’t purchase something that was worn by I don’t know how many other women, for $100 plus.  It’s just not right.

Now that I think about it, that’s their only flaw, overpriced used clothes.

Any who the second dress was my favorite. This lime green, with an accent of pink little number was my number one hit.  I thought that the stripes would make me look way bigger than I actually am, but it didn’t.  I could accessorize this basically any way I wanted to; either it be with a lime green shoe, beige show, pink shoe, or brown shoe.  I just adored this dress to the point of wanting to buy it.  However, good old Gwynnie Bee over priced this dress as well as it was over $100.



The only flaw on this dress is that the fabric started to form little balls over it… you know like something has been rubbing against it.  Again, I don’t think I would want to pay anything over $100 for something like that.

Overall, I do like this subscription and I would continue to pay for the service.  I think that this is an awesome way to add a bit of style and color to my wardrobe once a week without going on a shopping spree.

 

***************

I hope you all enjoyed this blog, and will look forward to more blogs like this.  Again, I am no fashionista, and I am not trying to be. lol  I just love to share great and affordable ways to get a bang for my buck when it comes to clothing or anything else of that matter.

Don’t forget to like, comment and follow!

Thanks again for taking time out of your day to read my blogs.

*****************

What was your favoite dress?  If you could, would you subscribe to Gwynnie Bee?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

